Israeli Terrorism on Full Display

Karen Shiebler
3 min readJust now

Bibi puts the world at risk. Again.

Orinoco Tribune

I’m old enough to have learned all about global terrorism. I was in my teens when terrorists in Northern Ireland set off bombs in the Irish Republic. I learned about South and Central American terrorists setting off bombs to oppose the American army.

I learned that terrorists were people, mostly men, who used violent attacks to achieve political ends. A terrorist was someone who didn’t use the power of the vote or the power or negotiations to try to change the lives of his people. He simply threw grenades into building, or shot up villages, to make his point.

A terrorist used both violence and the threat of it to cow his enemies into submission.

Terrorists were bad. Terrorists were evil.

Terrorists were the people who flew planes into the Twin Towers, just to make a political point. They wanted Americans to be afraid. They wanted the United States to change its relationship with Saudi Arabia and with Israel. They wanted it to listen to the needs of its people.

I learned to hate and to fear terrorists. I learned to see them as weak and powerless groups who had only violence as a way to shape world opinion.

I grew up with a list of terrorists shared with me by my government. The IRA, the Sandanistas…

--

--

Karen Shiebler

A Mother, a grandmother, a progressive voter. I write because it’s getting harder to march and because words are my weapon. I blog at momshieb.wordpress.com